Release the taxes!

Seriously, why is this an issue?

Once again, the Romneys won’t release anymore more tax returns. Fair enough, don’t release them in full. Why not have your CPA sign a statement verifying the years and  tax rates you paid? At least give that out. What’s so hard about saying “in 2006, I paid x amount, which was y percent of my income?” And repeat for every year you served as Governor, plus 07-08 (running for President) and 11-12 (running for President again).

“I never paid less than 13 percent,” Romney said at a press conference in Greer, S.C. “I think the most recent year is 13.6 percent.”

Prove it.

[Ann[ Romney, speaking with NBC’s Natalie Morales in an interview set to air Thursday night, said “there’s nothing we’re hiding” with regard to the couple’s finances, but that unveiling a more extensive record of their tax history would “only give [Democrats] more ammunition.”

“We have been very transparent to what’s legally required of us,” she said. “There’s going to be no more tax releases given.”

Prove it.

Romney isn’t helping himself. Better yet, release them all, in full. And then hold a press conference. And tell the American people something like this:

Yes, I made a lot of money in my life. I’ve also worked extremely hard and sacrificed a lot. I’ve done a lot of work turning around failed businesses and keeping people employed. I’ve worked for my country in the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics. I’ve worked for the people of Massachusetts as their Governor. I didn’t draw a paycheck from the residents of that state for the four years I was governor. I donate a sizable portion of my income to charity and the church. I’m not ashamed of my wealth and I’ve paid the amount of taxes legally required based on tax laws that I did not write and do not regulate.

Own up to the wealth, Mitt. You are successful. You’ve been successful. Americans like success stories. Just stop looking so shady!

At the very least, it would get Sen. Majority Leader Harry Reid to shut up and stop making accusations against you on the floor of the Senate.

(P.S., that should not be protected speech because he’s a U.S. Senator. Because of that, he should be held to a higher standard and susceptible to a slander lawsuit.)

One thought on “Release the taxes!

Leave a Reply

